Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
$100 Off Select Accordions
Store Hours: Tues-Fri 10-6, Sat 10-3 


Clifton Chenier: 60 Minutes with the King of Zydeco (CD)


Add to Cart
These 15 selections, drawn from Clifton Chenier's various Arhoolie releases, constitute his most popular recordings from 1965 to 1987, when he reigned supreme as the King of Louisiana Zydeco music. 
Chris Strachwitz, founder of Arhoolie Records, described Clifton Chenier this way: “We're not jiving when we call Clifton Chenier the greatest accordion player ever to come out of the zydeco tradition—but even that grandiose statement misses the point. To a remarkable extent, Clifton Chenier invented the modern zydeco style; to this day there are a whole slew of Louisiana bands making decent money playing Clifton's songs in Clifton's style. He is one-of-a-kind—a genius musician, a unique, remarkable, human being.” This album includes 15 of Chenier’s best-sellers from the archives of Arhoolie Records.

Track Listing:
1. Zydeco Sont Pas Sale (The Snap Beans Aren't Salty)
2. Louisiana Blues
3. Zydeco Cha-Cha
4. Black Gal
5. I'm a Hog for You
6. Allons a Grand Coteau (Let's Go to Grand Coteau)
7. You're Fussing Too Much
8. Tu Le Ton Son Ton (Every Now and Then)
9. Black Snake Blues
10. Big Mamou
11. Sa M'Appelle Fou (They Call Me Crazy, but My Name is Clifton Chenier)
12. I'm On the Wonder
13. Party Down at the Blue Angel Club
14. You're My Mule
15. Calinda

Contact Info
  • Liberty Bellows LLC
  • 267-815-4407
  • 614 S. 2nd St.
    Philadelphia, PA 19147
    • Hours:
      Tues-Fri: 10:00 AM–6:00 PM EST
      Sat: 10:00 AM–3:00 PM
      Closed Sundays and Mondays
Get Directions